Please note: The following guide is only relevant for Windows users.
(if you prefer to read this article in German, please click here)
We have discovered a bug in our Windows uninstaller. This guide will explain the situation, who is affected and how to solve it.
When downloading and installing the Timeular software on Windows, the installer will propose to install the Timeular.exe and all the corresponding files inside a new folder named Timeular. This is the default process.
Who is affected:
If you have followed this suggested default path during the installation process and kept the Timeular.exe and all the other files that belong to it in a separate folder (which is named Timeular by default), you are NOT affected by this uninstalling behaviour and have nothing to worry about.
You are only affected by this bug if you have installed the Timeular.exe and all its related files in a custom folder where you have also saved other non-related files, e.g. private .pdf, .mp3 files.
If you try to uninstall the Timeular software, everything inside the folder where the Timeular.exe file is located will get deleted, e.g. if you have a private .docx, .pdf, .mp3 or any kind of file within this custom folder, then it will get deleted. This could, of course, have potentially severe implications.
To be sure none of your data or other files get deleted when uninstalling Timeular software, we will show you how to secure your files by saving them to another folder before uninstalling the Timeular software.
Here are the steps to follow:
- Create a new folder somewhere, where you can save your private, non-Timeular related data
- Open the folder where the Timeular software is located
- Select all of your files inside this folder which DO NOT belong to the Timeular software and "cut" them
- Paste them inside the previously created folder
You are now safe to uninstall the Timeular software.
We are of course working hard to improve this behaviour as soon as possible and will update this article accordingly.